Nephrology (Kidney)

​About the ​Nephrology Department

The Nephrology Department at Christchurch Hospital provides regional nephrology services for people in Canterbury, South Canterbury, and Westland, comprising general nephrology, acute dialysis and chronic dialysis (CAPD and home haemodialysis). The department also provides Renal Transplant Services for people not only in Canterbury and Westland but also Otago and Southland.

The staff consist of five consultant nephrologists, two registrars, a house officer, a dialysis nurse manager, dialysis nurses, dialysis technicians, two secretaries, and a computer systems manager. We also have two renal transplant co-ordinators, a predialysis educator, a research/clinic nurse, a psychologist, a clinical nurse educator, a vascular access nurse, and an administrative officer.

Nephrology Staff

Clinical Director/Nephrologist

  • Dr David McGregor


  • Dr Penny Hill

  • Dr John Irvine​

  • Dr Nick Cross

  • Dr Suetonia Palmer

Dialysis Nurse Manager

  • Ms Wendy Cuthill

Service Manager

  • Ms Kimberley Reimers

Nephrology careers in Christchurch

The registrar posts are suitable for advanced training in nephrology under the auspices of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.

An additional bonus for staff considering working in Christchurch is the wide range of outdoor pursuits. Christchurch is the largest city in the South Island of New Zealand. See our careers website at

Visit HealthInfo for more information

rounded corners top

Related Documents

rounded corners bottom
Page last reviewed: 01 November 2016
Contact Us
Image of a Phone By Phone
Image of an Email sign By Email

For a full list of the convenient ways that you can contact us, refer to the Contact Us page