Hospital visitors don’t need a Vaccine Pass, but do need to scan in, and wear a surgical/medical paper mask. Fabric face coverings are no longer acceptable. See our COVID-19 pages for visiting guidelines, COVID-19 tests and care in the community advice. See for info about vaccinations.

We are at RED according to the NZ COVID-19 Protection Framework

Last updated:
23 January 2022

The following visitor restrictions are in place for all Canterbury DHB hospitals and health facilities:

  1. All visitors need to scan in using the COVID-19 Tracer App or sign in on arrival and provide their contact details
  2. If you’re using the COVID-19 Tracer App, please ensure Bluetooth tracing is turned on
  3. All visitors must wear a surgical/medical mask. Fabric face coverings are no longer acceptable
  4. All visitors are expected to practice safe physical distancing. You should remain two metres away from people you don’t know
  5. Everyone, including visitors should practise good hand hygiene
  6. Visitors who are unwell should not be entering our facilities.

Patients and visitors should also read the additional more detailed visiting guidelines for each specific hospital.

More COVID-19 information:

The Clinical Board

The Clinical Board is a multidisciplinary clinical forum, whose membership includes representatives from the primary, secondary and community sectors. There are 29 members on the Clinical Board, four of whom are elected. The Chairman and Deputy Chairman are elected annually.

Members of the Board support and influence the Canterbury District Health Board's vision and values, and play an important clinical leadership role. They are responsible for the clinical ​​​governance of services provided by the District Health Board.

The Clinical Board:

  • Oversees the District Health Board's clinical activity
  • Provides advice to the Chief Executive on clinical issues
  • Takes a proactive role in setting clinical policy and standards
  • Encourages best practice and innovation

Clinical board membership

All members (except ex officio) have a term of three years from and including February 2020 with right of renewal).

Ex Officio Members

Name/Position Representative area
Dr Helen Skinner, Chief Medical Officer

Chief Executive Nominee from the Executive Management Team 

Dr Ramon Pink, Medical Officer of Health

Clinical Director, Community and Public Health

Professor David Murdoch, Dean University of Otago, Christchurch

Jacqui Lunday Johnstone, Executive Director Allied Health

Interim nominee of the CDHB Clinical Governance Committee

Dr Isabel Jamieson

Nominee of the Ara Institute

Susan Wood, CDHB Manager, Quality and Patient Safety

Quality and Patient Safety, Canterbury DHB

Primary and Community Care

Name/Position Representative area
Dr Ben Hudson, General Practitioner

Nominee of Pegasus Health


Nominee of Waitaha Primary Health

Dr Tearlach MacLean, General Practitioner and Deputy Director of Health Centre

Nominee of the University of Canterbury and Christchurch PHO

Aarti Patel

Nominee of Canterbury Pharmacy Group

Annette Finlay

Nominee of Nurse Maude

Violet Clapham

Nominee of the NZ College of Midwives

Māori representative

Name/Position Representative area
Michelle Turrall

Nominee of Manawhenua ki Waitaha


Name/Position Representative area
Emma Jeffery

Nominee of Canterbury Clinical Network

Christine Leleifenika

Nominee of CCN Transalpine Oral Health Service Development Group



Page last updated: 5 July 2021

Is this page useful?