Respiratory Services

The Respiratory Department provides specialist care for a wide range of respiratory conditions such as Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), asthma, lung cancer, cystic fibrosis, sleep apnoea and many other conditions. We provide specialist outpatient clinics, lung function and sleep tests, as well as inpatient care when needed. We are part of the Canterbury Clinical Network and work together with community providers to support people with respiratory illness.

To contact a specific area of Respiratory Services, call 03 364 0640​ and ask for the area you need or look for it under ​​​Christchurch Hospital Wards and Departments.​


If you would like more information on a specific respiratory condition please see

Clinical Director
Dr Greg Frazer

Senior Medical Staff​
Dr Lutz Beckert
Dr Michael Epton
Dr Michael Hlavac
Dr Richard Laing
Dr Christina McLachlan
Dr Bronwen Rhodes
Dr Rachel Wiseman
Dr Teurai Chikura
Dr Michael Maze
Dr Adrienne Edwards

Ward 25​
Pip Crowther (Charge Nurse Manager)

Sleep Unit​
Dr Michael Hlavac (Clinical Director)
Dr Paul Kelly (Team Leader)​

Cardio-Respiratory Integrated Specialist Services (CRISS)​
Maureen Trewin (Nurse Manager)​

Ward 25 is situated on the second floor of the Riverside block, Christchurch Hospital, and provides inpatient care for people with respiratory and/or other medical conditions. Ward 25 has 27 inpatient beds including 5 single rooms.

Ward 25 offers an environment which supports learning and professional development and has links with ARA, Otago University, and the Christchurch School of Medicine

The ward is also established as a Dedicated Education Unit, which provides an alternative model of teaching for nursing students on clinical placement.

Inpatient services staff

Charge Nurse Manager​, Pip Crowther​
Ward Clerk, Gaye Hamilton​

The Sleep Unit at Christchurch Hospital provides diagnosis and treatment for people with sleep disordered breathing and other sleep related conditions. The Sleep Unit has strong community links with general practices who can provide screening for some conditions.

Sleep Unit Staff

Sleep Lab Manager
Dr Paul Kelly​

Clinical Physiologists​
Luna Pablo
Rebecca Williamson
Belinda Miguel
Jessica Langbridge
Courtney Mcauley
Chloe Flinn

Clinical Nurse Specialist​s
Sally Powell
Aleesa McKenzie​

Lina Elliot​
Linda Butler

Sleep Physicians​
Michael Hlavac
Teurai Chikura

A team of Clinical Nurse Specialists, Maori Health workers and others, provide expert care (both inpatient & outpatient) to people with a wide range of respiratory and cardiac conditions. 

These include:

  • Lung cancer
  • Cystic fibrosis
  • Sleep disorders
  • Heart failure/PAH
  • Infectious diseases

The team can also see people who need:

  • Cardiac rehabilitation
  • TB supervised treatment/directly observed therapy (DOT)
  • Maori Health Support in conjunction with a CNS
  • Help with newly-received respiratory equipment, e.g., patients who are discharged from hospital with home oxygen.

The team's hours are Monday to Friday, 8am to 5pm. Contact details for CRISS are available on Christchurch Hospital Wards and Departments. ​


Nurse Manager
Maureen Trewin​

Andrea M Thompson

Clinical Psychologist​
Sandie Young

Oxygen CNS ​
Donna Thomson
Jenny McWha
Angela Stewart

Tuberculosis (TB) CNS
Leanne McNeill 

Lung Cancer CNS​
Catherine Smith​
Belinda Egan

Cystic Fibrosis CNS
Jenny McWha

Sleep CNS​
Sally Powell
Aleesa McKenzie​

Cardiac CNS​
Julie Chirnside
Jo Scott
Gill Sheppard
Catherine Malone

Cardiac Rehab CNS​
Ruth Davison​
Sheryl Gregson​
Wendy Maginness

Maori Health Workers​
Marilyn Mua
Puti Hanara​

Smoking Cessation Co-ordinator​
Sue Stevenson​

The respiratory lab offers a comprehensive range of respiratory function tests, and is accredited by the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand (TSANZ).

Location: The Respiratory Physiology Laboratory is situated on the 4th floor of the Riverside building at Christchurch Hospital.

Hours: 8.00am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday.

Resp lab location.jpg

Respiratory Laboratory Staff

Medical & Clinical Director
Dr Greg Frazer​

Respiratory Physiologists​
Carmen Brussee – Roelofs
Fiona Fulton ​
Emily Ingram
Sarah Jones
Rachel Kingsford
Laura Ploen
Lauren Wallace
Jun Yang

Page last updated: 18 October 2019

Is this page useful?