RED

Hospital visitors don’t need a Vaccine Pass, but do need to scan in, and wear a surgical/medical paper mask. Fabric face coverings are no longer acceptable. See our COVID-19 pages for visiting guidelines, COVID-19 tests and care in the community advice. See www.vaccinatecanterburywestcoast.nz for info about vaccinations.

We are at RED according to the NZ COVID-19 Protection Framework

Last updated:
23 January 2022

The following visitor restrictions are in place for all Canterbury DHB hospitals and health facilities:

  1. All visitors need to scan in using the COVID-19 Tracer App or sign in on arrival and provide their contact details
  2. If you’re using the COVID-19 Tracer App, please ensure Bluetooth tracing is turned on
  3. All visitors must wear a surgical/medical mask. Fabric face coverings are no longer acceptable
  4. All visitors are expected to practice safe physical distancing. You should remain two metres away from people you don’t know
  5. Everyone, including visitors should practise good hand hygiene
  6. Visitors who are unwell should not be entering our facilities.

Patients and visitors should also read the additional more detailed visiting guidelines for each specific hospital.

More COVID-19 information:

COVID-19 news

News published by Canterbury DHB about COVID-19 and health services in Canterbury.

Sunday 23 January 2022 Surgical masks introduced for all DHB staff and visitors
Friday 14 January 2022 Bookings strongly recommended for tamariki COVID-19 immunisations
Thursday 30 December 2021 Keeping yourself safe with COVID-19 in the Community
Friday 24 December 2021 COVID-19 testing locations over Christmas weekend
Friday 17 December 2021 Canterbury’s government agencies team up to support COVID-19 Care in the Community
Friday 3 December 2021 Canterbury reaches 90 percent fully vaccinated milestone
Wednesday 22 November 2021 COVID-19 testing continues to be available for Cantabrians
Wednesday 17 November 2021 Cantabrians urged to get tested after notification of COVID-19 case
Thursday 4 November 2021 Canterbury DHB makes changes to visitor restrictions following sixth day of no new community cases
Monday 1 November 2021 Visiting Canterbury DHB facilities still limited, due to COVID-19 cases and Locations of Interest in the region
Friday 29 October 2021 COVID-19 testing continues to be available for Cantabrians
Thursday 28 October 2021 Cantabrians urged to get tested after notification of two COVID-19 cases
Wednesday 13 October 2021 Cantabrians urged to get vaccinated on Super Saturday
Friday 1 October 2021 Canterbury’s vaccination roll out accelerates with reopening of drive-through clinic
Wednesday 22 September 2021 Canterbury DHB makes changes to (Christchurch Hospital) visiting hours
Tuesday 7 September 2021 Canterbury DHB makes changes to visiting at its facilities under Delta Alert Level 2
Tuesday 31 August 2021 COVID-19 Alert Level 3 – access to healthcare and visitor restrictions in Canterbury
Saturday 21 August 2021 Free COVID testing is also available through many General Practices as well as at Community-based Testing Centres in Canterbury
Friday 20 August 2021 Canterbury DHB to pilot drive-thru COVID-19 vaccinations for essential workers
Wednesday 18 August 2021 Accessing healthcare in Canterbury under COVID-19 Alert Level 4 restrictions
Wednesday 18 August 2021 Care still available for patients with acute eye conditions, eye injection appointments still going ahead
Wednesday 18 August 2021 Information for visitors and patients - Alert Level 4
Wednesday 30 June 2021 Vaccinations for Chatham Islanders to kick off tomorrow
Thursday 3 June 2021 You’re never too old to get protected
Thursday 6 May 2021 Canterbury COVID-19 vaccination rollout makes its way to Aged Residential Care facilities
Sunday 28 March 2021 COVID-19 vaccination booking system error
Sunday 7 March 2021 Visitor restrictions eased as Canterbury DHB hospitals, health centres and age-related residential care facilities return to Alert Level 1
Sunday 28 February 2021 Surgery and outpatient appointments to go ahead at Canterbury DHB facilities tomorrow
Tuesday 16 February 2021 Canterbury DHB – Changes to visiting at Alert Level 2
Sunday 14 February 2021 Surgery and outpatient appointments to go ahead at Canterbury DHB facilities tomorrow
Friday 6 November 2020 COVID-19 testing continues to be available for Cantabrians
Wednesday 4 November 2020 Second case in Canterbury visited the Chemist Warehouse
Tuesday 3 November 2020 Pop up COVID-19 testing tomorrow in car park at the Princess Margaret Hospital
Wednesday 23 September 2020 Canterbury DHB makes changes to visiting at its facilities under Alert Level 1
Tuesday 18 August 2020 Bring your own mask when visiting the hospital
Friday 14 August 2020 Canterbury DHB makes changes to visiting at its facilities under Alert Level 2
Thursday 13 August 2020 COVID-19 testing is being stepped up, but only for people with symptoms at this time
Wednesday 12 August 2020 Aged Residential Care Facilities following usual infectious disease protocols
Wednesday 12 August 2020 Infection Prevention advice for Cantabrians under COVID-19 Alert Level 2
Friday 10 August 2020 Christchurch COVID-19 pop-up testing centre open this Saturday 11 August 2020
Friday 19 June 2020 Updated visitor guidance under COVID-19 Alert Level 1 for Canterbury DHB facilities
Thursday 4 June 2020 If you have the NZ COVID Tracer App, you’ll soon be able to scan as you enter Canterbury DHB facilities
Monday 2 June 2020 Cantabrians reminded to come to their outpatient or surgical appointments
Friday 15 May 2020 Canterbury DHB makes changes to visiting at its hospitals and health centres under Alert Level 2
Thursday 14 May 2020 Get checked before you break out of your bubble and get jiggy (or do the jiggle wiggle)
Wednesday 6 May 2020 Changes to Burwood Hospital visiting
Wednesday 29 April 2020 Updated visitor guidance under COVID-19 Alert Level 3 for Canterbury DHB facilities
Friday 17 April 2020 Canterbury DHB response to the upsetting news of a death of a former Rosewood Rest Home & Hospital resident
Wednesday 15 April 2020 Family voices speak volumes: Care of psychogeriatric dementia patients from the Rosewood cluster being cared for at Burwood Hospital
Wednesday 15 April 2020 More is not always better when it comes to PPE
Saturday 11 April 2020 Clarification on dementia, psychogeriatric level residents from Rosewood who were relocated to Burwood
Saturday 11 April 2020 Precautions in place to ensure safe transfer of hospital-level residents from Rosewood Rest Home & Hospital
Friday 10 April 2020 Additional 20 Rosewood Rest Home & Hospital hospital-level residents to be moved
Wednesday 8 April 2020 Important message from Canterbury GPs
Monday 6 April 2020 Canterbury DHB moves to support Rosewood Rest Home Dementia facility
Saturday 4 April 2020 Online form now available for expressions of interest to work in the health system
Friday 3 April 2020 Parents and caregivers urged to watch out for choking hazards
Tuesday 31 March 2020 52 COVID-19 cases now confirmed in Canterbury
Friday 27 March 2020 A further twelve COVID-19 cases confirmed in Canterbury
Thursday 26 March 2020 A further ten COVID-19 cases and one probable confirmed in Canterbury over the past two days
Thursday 26 March 2020 COVID-19 Alert Level Four – Updated hospital and clinic visitor policy
Wednesday 25 March 2020 Christchurch Hospital Park and Ride Shuttle Service to be put on hold
Tuesday 24 March 2020 Another two cases of COVID-19 recorded in Canterbury
Tuesday 24 March 2020 Canterbury DHB postpones non-urgent surgeries and non-urgent outpatient appointments, to focus on the COVID-19 response
Tuesday 24 March 2020 Two further cases of COVID-19 in Canterbury
Sunday 22 March 2020 Third case of COVID-19 confirmed in Canterbury
Saturday 21 March 2020 Contextual information regarding airport handout given to disembarking passengers early in the COVID-19 outbreak
Friday 20 March 2020 Second case of COVID-19 confirmed in Canterbury
Friday 20 March 2020 Temporary changes to limit visitor numbers at Canterbury DHB facilities
Sunday 15 March 2020 Passenger aboard the Golden Princess cruise ship berthed at Akaroa today being tested for COVID-19
Thursday 12 March 2020 If in doubt – don’t go out: Cantabrians urged to follow health advice when considering attending public events
Monday 27 January 2020 Canterbury DHB’s public health team providing advice on novel coronavirus to passengers arriving from Mainland China at Christchurch International Airport

 

Page last updated: 24 January 2022

Is this page useful?